Introducing Live the Freelance Life

As single parents, we have to make our way in the world while also taking care of ourselves. We need to have passions. Things we love doing. These are the things that keep us going when things are tough, and we all go through tough times in one way or another.

For me, this thing is writing. I love it!

I’ve met other single moms over the years who also enjoy writing, and I’ve enjoyed conversations with them. These women I’ve ‘met’ through blogging.

I wanted to share this part of my life with you. I’m working on building a writing career. I want to, at some point, replace my ‘day’ job with a full-time writing career. Slowly, of course, cutting down to part-time when I can afford to then working up to a full-time writing career from there.

Why? Because I want a job where I can travel. If I want to spend a month with one daughter, then a month with the other, I wont have to stop earning money to do so. I can take my work with me and work on it anywhere. Oh, the dreams I have.

Why do I want to share this with you? Because I believe all single moms can work toward a successful life, doing the things they are passionate about. I didn’t take this passion as seriously as I should have when the girls were young, though I should have. I did make some money with my writing back then while running a daycare from my home, but not near as much as I should have.

You can be successful. Go for it!

My writing consists of two parts. Fiction and nonfiction. Here I want to share with you what is happening in the nonfiction part of my world. If you write too, you will find this helpful. Here is a sampling of what can be found on the blog Live the Freelance Life:

Articles & Information

Free Newsletter

eBooks

As you can see, I’ve put a lot of work into this site and its side projects. It definitely keeps me busy! And there are more projects I have in the works.

Part of raising my daughters was having them help with different aspects of my businesses. They learned a lot, and we included these things in their homeschool lessons. Pretty much, the girls could work in any daycare and most office settings, just based on what they learned from me.

One reason I suggest having children help with your business is that it is time spent with family. There is nothing more precious to me than the time I spend with mine. Another reason I suggest having children help is they learn amazingly valuable skills by doing so, and they take those skills into adulthood.

So, that is my nonfiction life in a nutshell. How about you? What is your greatest passion and how might you make it work for you? Grab a notebook and a pen, and do a little planning. I’m not saying you have to do anything with the information. Just dream a little.

Shannon

Join the conversation!

