Graphic by Shannon L. Buck, copyright January 16, 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

30 Day Money Cleanse Day 3: Do You Use an Aggregator?

I’ve finished day 3 of the 30 Day Money Cleanse. How about you? If not, now is the time.

Personal Capital, where I found this challenge, has free Personal Finance Software that does not push credit cards on people. This makes me happy, as I know there are other ways to meet your financial goals. I would never push a credit card on anyone, and I don’t use one myself.

Their free tools will show you where you stand financially. This software will help you do things like:

  • budget
  • plan for retirement
  • figure out your net worth
  • manage investment accounts
  • see your cash flow
  • check portfolio balances

It will help you to plan your future, and seems to me like a good program.

Personally, I’ve been using Mint.com for a couple of months now. I haven’t had to pay anything. It does suggest credit cards and other services, none of which I’m prepared to suggest here. I haven’t used them.

I do like Mint but, if I wasn’t already set up with them I would be just as apt to try the other Personal Finance Software. Most aggregators seem like they would be helpful.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright January 22, 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

As you can see, I’m already tracking a fair amount of stuff with Mint.com. I’ve noted those items in purple. I decided this morning to spend a little time on my dashboard, and came across some other things I might want to track, and I noticed I’ll also be able to track any investments I decide to make.

My notes in red, at the bottom of the page, are what I want to look at further. I’m considering how I’ll incorporate these things in my overall financial plan. Some of what I want to research more thoroughly:

  1. Investment accounts & portfolio balances.
  2. Bill pay, though I may stick with my financial institution for this one.
  3. Setting personal success goals, such as those from Day 2 of the challenge: Your Financial Goals.

I’m excited to set some things in motion this year. How about you?

Question: Do you use an aggregator? I’m not saying you have to, because this does put your financial information out there more than it already is, and I know many people are not comfortable with that. I understand completely. I definitely see the benefits for myself, but can understand if you want to do things on paper instead.

Action Steps:

  1. Check out one of the aggregators mentioned in this post and on the 30 Day Money Cleanse calendar, or another of your choosing.
  2. Look at the dashboard offerings to see if it is something you feel might help you to stay or get on track financially so you can meet your future goals.
  3. Sign up with the one that most fits your needs, if you desire to do so.
  4. Spend time setting up the information and what you want on your dashboard. While this will take some time initially, it will make everything go faster from here on out.
  5. Think about how it feels to have these things organized in one place, and to be able to glance at your dashboard to see how you are doing financially.

Congratulations on finishing day 3 of the 30 Day Money Cleanse! You are doing great.

I’ll be posting Day 4 tomorrow.

Shannon

One thought on “30 Day Money Cleanse Day 3: Do You Use an Aggregator?

Join the conversation!

