Graphic by Shannon L. Buck, copyright January 16, 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

30 Day Money Cleanse Day 5: How Much do You Spend?

Today’s task wont take very long if you already have somewhat of an idea how much you spend. Take out your calculator to figure out how much is spent in each area per year, then divide each by 12 for the monthly cost. I have a hard time figuring holiday costs and stuff, because I’m a deal seeker. I try to get out of all my shopping as frugally as possible. So this one is a little difficult for me. I know me, and I know I’ll spend as little as possible. In the end, I will set a ridiculously low budget, and I’ll come in at or below it.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright January 24, 2017.

What did I notice from this task? I go to Aroma Joe’s a lot, lol. I guess I’ll be cutting back on the spending here, and using the money saved to pay down some more debt and save for retirement. I’ll also be letting go of at least 1 dinner out per month, and using that money to invest.

Question: What did you notice about your spending? Is there anywhere you can cut back? I’m not saying you have to give anything up completely. I know I wont be. Just consider where you can cut back.

Action Steps:

  1. Make your list according to the directions for today. (See the calendar)
  2. Look over the list, noticing where you spend more than is necessary.
  3. Decide to cut back on something, such as cutting down to one dinner or latte a week.
  4. Put the money you save toward paying down debt and/or saving for retirement.

Congratulations on finishing day 5 of the 30 Day Money Cleanse! You are doing great.

I’ll be posting Day 6 tomorrow.

Shannon

One thought on “30 Day Money Cleanse Day 5: How Much do You Spend?

Join the conversation!

