Graphic by Shannon L. Buck, copyright January 16, 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

30 Day Money Cleanse Day 13: Do You Have an Emergency Fund?

I’ve finished day 13 of the 30 Day Money Cleanse. How about you? If not, now is the time.

It didn’t take long to calculate the figures for today’s tasks, because I had already made note of what I pay for things each month.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright February 1, 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

 

One thing I did was slim the budget for the emergency fund a bit. For instance, I’ll let myself spend a certain amount on in a few areas now that I’m making a bit more money but, when I’m low on funds, those amounts go down.

In my figuring I’m trying to go with the middle ground. Not spending as much as I allow now on a couple of things, but I don’t want to deprive myself either. If I feel deprived it will be a miserable few months while things get back on track.

Even these figures are subject to change (lower), depending on the situation.

The formula:

total amount I think I’ll need per month x 3 or 6 = total to save to be prepared for a 3 or 6 month period

Note that I’m not setting this emergency fund up yet. I need to concentrate on paying down some debt and saving for retirement. Once debt is paid off, I’ll start putting at least half that amount toward my emergency fund. The rest will be going toward a personal fund that to obtain my land and a small home.

I’m going to do some research to find out if I can invest money in such a way as to save for the emergency and personal funds more quickly, so I can move on from them and put even more toward retirement.
Question: Are you investing to more quickly get to your goals?

Action Steps:

  1. Check out today’s task. (See the calendar)
  2. Take anything you have already put aside for this purpose and set up an account for your emergency fund.

Congratulations on finishing day 13 of the 30 Day Money Cleanse! You are doing great.

I’ll be posting Day 14 tomorrow.

Shannon

One thought on “30 Day Money Cleanse Day 13: Do You Have an Emergency Fund?

Join the conversation!

