Graphic by Shannon L. Buck, copyright March 3, 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

A Bucket List for Making Memories

I read that 78% of people would rather spend money on experiences, such as time with family and going to events, than buying things. I’m in agreement with that 78%. Spending money doing things with the people I love is more important than any material possession. Or even spending time doing things for free. And time with family and friends far outweighs anything I could buy for myself.

As part of Experiences, Not Things!, I’m creating this bucket list of things I want to do in 2017 with family and friends. I’m taking, in part, from the 2017 goals list I came up with, so I’ve already done a couple of things on the list, but I still have more memories to make this year!

Making Memories Bucket List – 2017

  1. Visit with my daughter Skye up north. (Done!) There’s nothing quite like hanging out with your adult children, especially when you don’t get to see but a few times a year. This year, we stayed close to her home. It was freezing up there! We did get one good walk in, though. And we played cards with some of her and Dominick’s friends one evening. I won a few dollars! We also enjoyed brownie delights.
  2. Visit my daughter Zowie, her husband Devan, and Little Man. I’m hoping to be able to go for a few day visit. And I want to do something or go somewhere new while I’m there. New adventures are so much fun!
  3. I’m going to take my sister out to eat. She treated the last time, and it will be good to have the chance to catch up.
  4. A weekend away with the bestest! We want to rent a cottage, somewhere near the water and close to shops. I also want to take time to get some picture taking in. Girl time is always fun!
  5. Getting together with the bestest and (hopefully) her boyfriend, as well as our friend Bob, for some good food and conversation.
  6. Video chats with Zowie and Little Man. (Started doing this!) And hoping to get Skye involved in these as well.
  7. Spend some time with my mom. You’d think this would be a given, with us living only a couple of towns apart, but with my work schedule and her schedule of taking care of her mother-in-law, we don’t spend as much time together as I’d like. She’s a real homebody, and I don’t drive. I’d like to get together a couple of times with her. Maybe go out to eat and help her with things around her place.
  8. Attend at least one community event. To feel that community connection. More if possible.

If you’re planning on making your own memories this year check out Eventbrite’s event management software to make it easier. You can use it for any number of things, from planning parties to family reunions.

What does your bucket list of memories look like?

Shannon

Join the conversation!

